Getting back into the swing of things

Oh my- I have really dropped the ball on this blog over the last few months.  We have had a lot going on, and unfortunately this was put on the back burner.  That isn’t to say we gave up on living locally the last few months.  We’ve continued that, but it hasn’t been as easy given the time of year and not having any winter CSA’s or food shares in this area.  We’ve been slowly eating all the veggies I froze and fruits I canned.   Our entire Thanksgiving Feast was produced within ten miles of our home.  We tried really hard to get our Christmas gifts from craft shows and local merchants.  We really saved quite a bit of money on gifts by shopping this way.  That wasn’t the point, but it was a pleasant surprise.  Most clothes and household items have been purchased through thrift and consignment stores.

This weekend I made my own laundry detergent.  I was nervous, but the results have been wonderful.  Here is the recipe:

  • 1 box of Borax
  • 8 boxes of baking soda
  • 4 bars of Castile Soap, grated
  • a heavy sprinkle of lavender essential oil

I dumped it all in a five gallon plastic container and mixed it with my hands.  It only takes two tablespoons to do one large load.

I also spent some time making some shower gel for K’s sensitive skin.  This is still cooling so we shall see how it works.

  • Half gallon distilled water
  • two cups of grated soap (I used Tom’s of Maine because it doesn’t have the sodium based ingredients.)
  • 2 Tablespoons of Vegetable glycerin

Heat the water add soap and glycerin.  Do not boil.  Stir continuously until soap dissolves in the water.  Pour into jars and let cool.  My plan is to take an empty shower gel container and fill it with the soap.  That will be what is on the shelf in the shower.  The rest will wait in their mason jars.

I have several other plans in the works that I hope to blog about in the upcoming weeks.

2 responses to “Getting back into the swing of things

  1. Did your clothes still have a lavender smell after going through the dryer? I read somewhere that if you use the dryer the scent won’t be there so there’s no need to add it. I was wondering if that was true. I’ll probably wait a couple months before trying this as I just bought a huge thing of laundry detergent a couple weeks ago.

    Also, the measurement is for a regular washer right, not HE?

  2. The measurement is for a regular washing machine. I’ll have to look up the measurement for the HE. The smell is faint, but it is still there. Some clothes hold the smell more than the others. I don’t know if it sticks to certain fabrics more or not. I like that my whole utility room smells like lavender.

Leave a Reply

